Local Schools Receive Safety Grants From New State Program

Several schools in the 41st Senatorial District were awarded state grants today (October 30) to help improve student safety through a new program supported by Senator Don White.

The School Safety and Security Grant Program was created by lawmakers earlier this year to provide grants to school districts, intermediate units, area vocational-technical schools, charter schools and private residential rehabilitative institutions for a wide variety of projects to improve school safety.

Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

Each local school district that applied through the program was awarded a grant of $25,000. Local grant recipients include:

Armstrong County

Apollo-Ridge School District, Armstrong School District, Freeport Area School District and Leechburg Area School District.

Butler County

Butler Area School District, Karns City Area School District, Mars Area School District, Moniteau School District and South Butler Area School District.

Clarion County

Allegheny-Clarion Valley School District and Redbank Valley School District.

Clearfield County

Harmony Area School District

Indiana County

Blairsville-Saltsburg School District, Homer-Center School District, Indiana Area School District, Marion Center Area School District, Penns Manor Area School District, Purchase Line School District and United School District.

Jefferson County

Punxsutawney Area School District.

Westmoreland County

Burrell School District, Franklin Regional School District and Kiski Area School District.

The new program was created as part of a comprehensive school safety bill that was signed into law in June. More than $60 million in new funding was dedicated in the current year’s budget to improve school safety.

More information on school safety measures under consideration in the General Assembly is available online at https://www.pasenategop.com/school-safety/.

Contact:           Joe Pittman     jpitman@pasen.gov